Australia is a huge continent, thus it has 8 different climate zones:

  1. Climate zone 1: northern Australia from Exmouth in WA across to midway between Townsville and Mackay in Queensland. High humidity summer, warm winter.
  2. Climate zone 2: Coastal Queensland from midway between Townsville and Mackay south to just below Coffs Harbour. Warm humid summer, mild winter.
  3. Climate zone 3: northern central Australia from Carnarvon on the WA coast, encompassing Newman, Alice Springs, Tennant Creek, Longreach, Charleville to the Queensland hinterland down to 28 degrees south but not the coast. Hot dry summer, warm winter.
  4. Climate zone 4: southern central Australia from the WA hinterland across most of inland SA, inland NSW and inland Victoria, encompassing Yalgoo, Warburton, Coober Pedy, Whyalla, Broken Hill, Mildura, Bourke, Tamworth and Albury-Wodonga. Hot dry summer, cool winter.
  5. Climate zone 5: coastal strip of WA from 27 to 34 degrees south encompassing Geraldton, Perth, Bunbury, then a coastal strip encompassing Esperance, a coastal strip encompassing Eucla, then coastal areas of SA encompassing Ceduna and Adelaide and some hinterland areas north of Whyalla and east of Adelaide, then a coastal strip of NSW encompassing Wollongong, Sydney, Newcastle up to 32 degrees south, then a hinterland strip west of Brisbane. Warm temperate.
  6. Climate zone 6: a coastal and hinterland strip of southern WA encompassing Albany, then hinterland north of Adelaide, coastal and hinterland area from Kangaroo Island and Adelaide around coastal and hinterland Victoria encompassing Ballarat and Melbourne, then the coastal strip of southern NSW and hinterland NSW west of Sydney as far north as 28 degrees south. Mild temperate.
  7. Climate zone 7: sub-alpine areas of Victoria and southern NSW including the south-eastern coast of Victoria and a small area west of Coffs Harbour, most of Tasmania and Bass Strait islands. Cool temperate.
  8. Climate zone 8: alpine areas of Victoria, NSW and Tasmania. Alpine.

Another difference is in seasons:

  • December to February is summer;
  • March to May is autumn;
  • June to August is winter;
  • and September to November is spring.

Weather through the year in the most popular Australian cities:

Brisbane’s Climate and Weather

Brisbane is located in a subtropical zone and has warm or hot weather for most of the year. In summer the humidity can become really high sometimes. Brisbane’s climate is very sunny (around 2,800 hours of sunshine annually). Rainfall comes in winter months.

Sydney’s Climate and Weather

Sydney has a temperate, humid climate with abundant sunshine. Sydney’s sunshine is well spread through the year, so even winter has enjoys many days with pleasant weather.

Canberra’s Climate and Weather

Canberra’s location and its height above sea level makes its climate drier and more continental than Sydney’s, so its summers are hotter and winters colder.

Melbourne’s Climate and Weather

Melbourne has a temperate climate with plenty of sunshine. Most people find its climate agreeable all year round. Melbourne’s climate is a bit cooler on average than other large coastal cities.

Adelaide’s Climate and Weather

Adelaide has a Mediterranean climate. Most of the year it has warm and sunny weather. Rainfall comes mainly in winter.

Perth’s Climate and Weather

Perth’s climate is extremely sunny and hot. It has about 3,200 sunshine hours annually. This number is much higher than any other large city in Australia has.